Select Page

As we enter the blessed and spiritual season of Ramadan this year, let us help you achieve the noble objectives of Ramadan and to strengthen your spiritual journey!

On behalf of the Storeus team, we present to you the Ramadan guide to help you understand the nature of it and some of the Do’s and Don’ts to maximize your experience of this holy season.

Ramadan Glossary


Taqwa refers to God fearing/Consciousness. The term “Taqwa” is a concept in Islam that tells the person to be Self Reliant or self conscious of God, to have God’s fear in your mind and remember him in all you do. It works as a shield or barrier and protects you from doing wrong.


Ibadah means ‘Worship’. “Ibadah”- means worshipping God with all your heart. It is a symbol of devotion and submission and love towards Allah.


Sabar refers to ‘Patience’ and ‘Gratitude’. “Sabar” in Arabic means Patience and Perseverance. It’s two halves of faith in Islam and perfect philosophy in life.


Iftar is a term used for ‘Breaking of the Fast’. “Iftar”is the meal eaten after sunset during Ramadan. Muslims end their daily fast in the evening during Ramadan.


Sadaqah signifies ‘Gesture of Charity’. “Sadaqah” means ‘Righteousness’. It is considered as the voluntary giving in charity to serve and please God. Sadaqah also means to be kind to each other. It is a charitable act towards each other, not necessarily in kind or money.


Suhoor is the ‘Pre dawn meal before fasting’. “Suhoor” is the meal taken just at the sunrise before the fasting. Suhoor is important as it provides energy during the day to perform your day’s activities.


 Rahma is ‘Mercy’. “Rahma” signifies Mercy, Compassion in Islam. It depicts that Allah is merciful and kind towards one’s deeds. It is suggested that you should also be kind and compassionate towards each other.


“Ashra” in literal terms means ‘Ten days’ in Arabic. Ramadan is divided into 3 parts of 10 days each. The first ten days begin with ‘Mercy’, The middle 10 days explain ‘Forgiveness’ and the third and last Ashra or ten days end with ‘Nijat’ means ‘Emancipation from the fire’.


‘Salah’ means the’ Act of offering Prayer to Allah’. In Islam, it is a belief that Muslims should pray five times each day. It is important as it allows oneself to Communicate with God, Listen to his words for you and follow the footsteps or guidelines provided by God.


Meaning of Hasanat is ‘Good Deeds’. So, basically it is simple that it is a credit for your good deeds by Allah.


Means ‘Fasting’. The term is used to describe ‘Fasting’ during Ramadan. Muslims abstain from food and drink each day from sunrise till sunset during Ramadan. The purpose of ‘Sawm’ or fasting is to be conscious of one’s self and to be obedient to God and to be religious.


The term means ‘Forgiveness’. It means one should practice to ask Maghfirah from God ‘Forgiveness from your Sin’ so that on the judgement day God consider your good deeds and forgive your bad deeds.


Dhikr in Islam means ‘Remembrance of God’. It is a form of worship or meditation in Islam which of high importance. Dhikr is performed to glorify God and achieve spiritual perfection.


‘Hadith’ is the ‘Record of the words & deeds of the Prophet Mohammad’. It provides the moral guidance and explains the religious laws in Islam. It holds a great importance for Muslims. During Ramadan, people should be reminded of Hadith to perform religious activities.


Taraweeh is an Arabic word which means ‘Rest’ and ‘Relax’. ‘Taraweeh ‘ is an obligatory prayer during Ramadan for all Muslims. It has many spiritual and physical benefits.

To greet people during this season, we say “Ramadan Mubarak” or “Happy Ramadan”!

Do’s of the Ramadan season

  1. Use Ramadan Greetings
  2. Give Gifts
  3. Be in your spiritual self
  4. Do accept Iftar invitations from your friend
  5. Be Patient
  6. Keep Calm


  1. Don’t eat or drink in public
  2. Don’t play loud music
  3. Don’t Be Disrespectful
  4. Dress Properly

Meet your family and friends. Spread goodness and enjoy the Holy Month of Ramadan.